• SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE. BoneSmart will be unavailable from 8:00am - 10:00am CDT on Tuesday, May 21, 2024 due to required systems maintenance and upgrade.

If you are unable to log in, please check back later and the maintenance should be completed.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

Reverse Shoulder Replacement Hello! New member

greyg8r

Country
United States United States
Hi, my name is Richard, I wanted to introduce myself. I am a 64yo semi-retired wetland scientist and owner of a mangrove trimming company.

Starting about three years ago, I started getting occasional shoulder pain after weight training, pushups or overhead lifting. Once I rested a few days, the pain subsided and I didn’t think in about it.

Anout two years, the pain became more common and I gave up overhead lifting and pushups.

Last year, I gave up throwing the ball to the dog and I started fly fishing with both hands and saw my orthopedist. He said my osteoarthritis was so bad he had to do a reverse shoulder replacement.

On December 6, 2023 I had the surgery. After two weeks, I was out of the immobilizer. Now, 100 days later, I am pain-free but certain movements with my right, repaired arm are limited:
1. Putting hard pressure with my hand on the center of my chest.
2. Reaching my left shoukder
3. Reaching the bottom of my neck
4. I have very little flexibility reaching the small of my back.

I’d like to know how much of this lack of range of motion is permanent from the biomechanics of reverse shoulder replacement and how much will improve as the musculature improves and tendons and ligaments become more flexible.

Thanks again.

Richard

Hi Richard, Welcome to BoneSmart! From what you've written, I am guessing that the reverse shoulder replacement was to your Right shoulder?
As soon as you verify this we will make your signature so anyone reading any of your posts will know what kind of surgery you have had.